THE Corn Beef Day

Ever had one of those days

Where the key breaks

Before you have a chance to use it

To open Sesame

And you have to use tin snips

To open the can

And eat the Corned Beef

Using a fork?

Somedays I have to use a cutting torch

To open my eyes

In the morning – I sleep on my couch

Cos the bed’s too big and cold

Fully clothed I awaken reaching for the makings

Of a new cigarette

And I stroll to the kitchenette and make a cuppa char

Red Bush to remind me of home

I can dig out my eyes with a fork

For their view of the day ahead

Giving the Elegy at my Father’s only funeral

All Black black black.

Copyright B E Saunders 2016

Leave a Reply

