I wish I could remember…

I wish I could remember when my mother kissed me last

I wish I could remember if it ever happened

We met before her death

So I know we spent time together

But I can’t remember if we even touched.

Some families are close, others like mine

Get brought up with Victorian values

Sex is forbidden to be discussed

And physical contact awkward.

No hugs for fear of contact between

The lower body organs.

No kissing.  I still don’t get

Kissed much maybe this is

Why I don’t give a damn

About brushing my teeth.

Copyright 2016 B E Saunders

 

2 comments
    • You don’t have to say that, but thanks – I’m writing some stuff out of my system.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

