Retail Therapy

I wish I could pour myself a drink

With these words

To quench, to quench, to quench

These words are not enough, they

Must do more than that they must save

My voice from its use.

I won’t be able to stop once I start

To yell at the roof- and treetops,

About whom I have much to say.

This will be beyond the woe

And more than the Poe, as it makes

The horror of the night awaken. I

Want to be able to gain some wealth from it

And so I go to the Sears and Roebuck

To get a failsafe device called Levi to flaunt.

Copyright B E Saunders 2016

3 comments
  1. No – it’s about going to Sears to buy some Levi jeans as retail therapy to stop me wandering the dark streets of Bath yelling at the houses and the trees and the moon…! Not complicated.

    Like

    • In other words, if the therapy of the poetry/words/drink doesn;t work, I’ll have to gp for retail therapy and buy some Levi’s, to stop me yelling at everything!

      Like

Leave a comment